LibreOffice / The Document Foundation

LibreOffice: it stands out from the office suite crowd.

We use LibreOffice as our standard office solution and support customers with SLA contracts with the implementation of OpenOffice and LibreOffice. The LibreOffice community is very close to our hearts. That's why we regularly work to give back to the community. Along with the organisation LibreOffice Conference, various employees have also contributed patches to LibreOffice. And we also support the Document Foundation by housing various servers and buildbots on our infrastructure.

Package Mirror

Mirror, mirror on the wall...

Fast downloads and high availability are the hallmarks of a good package mirror - we strive for nothing less with our package mirror. The mirror is available at https://pkg.adfinis-sygroup.ch and is the official mirror for the following distributors:

  • Arch Linux
  • CentOS
  • Debian
  • Ubuntu

The server delivers about 20 million files and around 6TB of data per month.

Conference Sponsorship

Meeting up and going farther together.

Adfinis SyGroup regularly sponsors open source conferences. Our consultants also contribute to the content portions of various meet-ups. Here is a small sample:

Swiss OpenStreetMap Association 

Open Street Map: more than just maps!

Open data is a subject closely related to open source and one that is very important to us. The Swiss OpenStreetMap Association is an elementary part of the Swiss OpenStreetMap movement, which contributes much to the setup and expansion of free map data. Adfinis SyGroup supports the Swiss OpenStreetMap Association by housing their server infrastructure, and various employees continually provide their edits in order to contribute to the growth of the data.

PyAptly 

Aptly Management done the easy way!

Aptly is a wonderful solution for creating and managing repositories. We use Aptly in a wide range of scenarios and have contributed a comprehensive addition in order to significantly simplify the many tasks. The resulting solution is available as PyAptly under the GNU Affero General Public License on GitHub.

Foreman-YML

Make Foreman configuration as easy as pie! :)

When it comes to commissioning Linux systems, both in-house and for customers, we prefer to use Foreman. In order to make the installation and configuration reproducible and automatable, we've developed a solution capable of imaging large parts of the Foreman configuration with a YML file and executing them, using Ansible, for instance. The resulting software is available as Foreman-YML under the GNU General Public License on GitHub.

Upstream Contributions

We're not just in it for ourselves!

For all of the open source solutions we use, we work directly with the upstream projects. This way, modifications and improvements are added directly. We also use public channels for communication with the projects and help other users with questions in forums, on IRC channels, etc.

Collaborating in Official Bodies and Organisations

United we stand!

Our employees are involved in all types of official bodies and organisations involved with various issues related to open source. This includes, for instance:

  • serving on the jury of the Swiss Open Source Awards
  • membership on the board of the CH Open association
  • partnership in the Parlamentarische Gruppe Digitale Nachhaltigkeit (Parliamentary Group for Digital Sustainability)
  • contributing as experts in vocational training projects in open source

For more on this subject, see here:

Open Source Projects

Projects we've started

Adfinis SyGroup develops solutions that others can also benefit from. We publish these solutions on our GitHub page and are always happy to receive feedback or contributions.

A few selected examples:

  • finja: a tool for searching through large quantities of source code (GitHub)
  • freedomvote: a platform which allows users to compare the positions of politicians and make voting recommendations (GitHub)
  • freeze: a tool for sorting and comparing data structures and objects (GitHub)
  • virtdesk: VDI tools for RHEV/oVirt (GitHub)

LibreOffice / The Document Foundation

LibreOffice: it stands out from the office suite crowd.

Wir setzen LibreOffice als unsere standard Office Lösung ein und unterstützen Kunden mit SLA-Verträgen beim Einsatz von OpenOffice und LibreOffice. Die LibreOffice Community liegt uns sehr am Herzen, daher geben wird durch verschiedene Tätigkeiten regelmässig etwas an die Community zurück. Nebst der Organisation der LibreOffice Conference haben verschiedene MitarbeiterInnen Patches zu LibreOffice beigetragen. Zudem unterstützen wir die Document Foundation mit dem Housing verschiedener Server und Buildbots auf unserer Infrastruktur. 

Paket Mirror

Spieglein, Spieglein an der Wand...

Schnelle Downloads und hohe Verfügbarkeit zeichnen gute Paket Mirrors aus - nichts weniger als das streben wir mit unserem Paket Mirror an. Der Mirror ist unter https://pkg.adfinis-sygroup.ch verfügbar und gilt für folgende Distributionen als offizieller Mirror:

  • Arch Linux
  • CentOS
  • Debian
  • Ubuntu

Der Server liefert in einem Monat gegen 20 Mio. Files und rund 6TB Daten aus.

Sponsoring von Konferenzen

Sich treffen und zusammen weiterkommen.

Als Sponsor unterstützt Adfinis SyGroup regelmässig Open Source Konferenzen. Ausserdem steuern unsere ReferentInnen zum Inhaltlichen Teil von verschiedenen Anlässen bei. Hier ein kleiner Auszug:

Swiss OpenStreetMap Association

Open Street Map: mehr als nur Karten!

Open Data ist ein mit Open Source nahe verwandtes Thema, dass uns sehr wichtig ist. Die Swiss OpenStreetMap Association ist ein elementarer Teil der Schweizer OpenStreetMap Bewegung, die viel zum Aufbau und Ausbau der freien Karten-Daten beiträgt. Adfinis SyGroup unterstützt die Swiss OpenStreetMap Association mit dem Housing von Server-Infrastruktur und verschiedene MitarbeiterInnen tragen mit ihren Edits immer wieder zum Wachstum der Daten bei.

PyAptly

Aptly Management done the easy way!

Aptly ist eine wunderbare Lösung, um apt Repositories zu erstellen und zu verwalten. Wir setzen Aptly in diversen Szenarien ein und haben eine umfassende Erweiterung beigetragen, um häufige Aufgaben substantiell zu vereinfachen. Die entstandene Lösung ist als PyAptly unter der GNU Affero General Public License auf GitHub verfügbar.

Foreman-YML

Make Foreman configuration as easy as pie! :)

Provisioning von Linux Systemen erledigen wir intern und bei Kunden am liebsten via Foreman. Um die Installation und Konfiguration reproduzierbar und automatisierbar zu machen, haben wir eine Lösung entwickelt, welche grosse Teile der Foreman-Konfiguration mit einem YML-File abbilden und z.B. mittels Ansible durchführen kann. Die so entstandene Software ist als Foreman-YML unter der GNU General Public License auf GitHub verfügbar.

Upstream Contributions

Wir kochen nicht nur unsere eigenen Süppchen!

Bei sämtlichen von uns eingesetzten Open Source Lösungen arbeiten wir direkt mit den Upstream Projekten zusammen. Auf diese Weise fliessen Änderungen und Verbesserungen direkt ein. Zudem nutzen wir die öffentlichen Kanäle für die Kommunikation mit den Projekten und unterstützen andere NutzerInnen bei Fragestellungen in Foren, in IRC Kanälen, etc.

Mitarbeit in Gremien und Organisationen

Zusammen sind wir stark!

Unsere MitarbeiterInnen engagieren sich in verschiedensten Gremien und Organisationen, die sich für verschiedene Open Source Themen einsetzen. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

  • Mitarbeit in der Jury des Schweizer Open Source Awards
  • Mitgliedschaft im Vorstand des Vereins CH Open
  • Partner der Parlamentarischen Gruppe Digitale Nachhaltigkeit
  • Einsätze als Experte bei Lehrabschluss-Projekten im Open Source Umfeld

Mehr zu diesem Thema finden Sie hier:

Open Source Projekte

Projekte, die von Adfinis SyGroup ins Leben Gerufen wurden

Adfinis SyGroup entwickelt Lösungen von denen auch andere profitieren können. Wir veröffentlichen diese auf unserer GitHub-Seite und freuen uns auf Feedback oder Contributions.

Einige herausgepickte Beispiele:

  • finja: ein Tool um grosse Mengen von Source Code zu durchsuchen (GitHub)
  • freedomvote: eine Plattform um die Positionen von PolitikerInnen vergleichen zu können und Wahlempfehlungen zu ermöglichen (GitHub)
  • freeze: ein Tool um Datenstrukturen und Objekte sortieren und vergleichen zu können (GitHub)
  • virtdesk: VDI Tools für RHEV/oVirt (GitHub)